Tropical Australian
Academic Health Centre

TAAHC is a research collaboration based in northern Queensland.

TAAHC is a collaboration between the five hospital and health services in northern Queensland – Cairns and Hinterland, Mackay, North West, Torres & Cape and Townsville - the Northern Queensland Primary Health Network and James Cook University and the Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine. TAAHC Members have a long history of service delivery, workforce training and innovation aimed at improving health and workforce capacity across a large region with unique health challenges. These challenges include a higher burden of non-communicable diseases including diabetes and cardiovascular disease, the impact of and public health responses to tropical, exotic and infectious diseases including tuberculosis and vector-borne diseases, disparities in access to health care and health outcomes, and the provision of health care over a large geographic area entailing a multidimensional practice environment requiring ‘generalist’ skills and training.

Learn more

Please click on the map below to learn more about our TAAHC Members.


Torres &


North West



TAAHC Service Regions

TAAHC partners provide health services and tertiary education for over 700,000 people in northern Queensland, from Mackay to the Torres Strait Islands.

Learn more

Our Members

Northern Queensland’s highly distributed health care system and largest tertiary education provider are united through membership of TAAHC.